HoopLife Forums

The opportunity to talk about issues affecting Canadian basketball from coast-to-coast

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

state of officiating: opinions

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
deathstar11

PostSubject: state of officiating: opinions   Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:12 pm

since i am relatively new to high school basketball, i was wondering if any of the more experienced coaches/parents/etc who frequent this forum have noticed a gradual decline in the quality of officiating. There seems to be a number of officials who refuse to blow their whistle for rough play or flagrant fouls, and then they lose control of the game and it turns into a wrestling match. I was under the impression that excessive contact in the post was an issue that was deemed to be focused on this year. You could have fooled me!
Back to top Go down
View user profile

PostSubject: Re: state of officiating: opinions   Fri Mar 09, 2012 1:28 am

There are some refs who are very good, the majority are adequate and fair, but there are a few who deserve the "ROTTEN WHISTLE AWARD jocolor

Recent Nominees Include:

1st place: EP Scarlet vs BOB senior girls - ref removed the whole crowd because they were calling out "travel" "3 in the key" He didn't like others calling the game for him - BOO HOO!

2nd place: BG vs STM senior boys - ref ejected player from the game when he thought he saw the player "throw a punch" Fans from both sides booed that call - WHOA BIG FELLA - YOU HAD A PREMATURE EJECTION!

3rd place: BOB vs BG senior boys - two refs gaze off and totally ignore one player with a bad temper throw a metal chair down onto the court as he stalked off to the change room. W here's T he F arm?

ANY OTHER NOMINEES?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PleaseBoxOut

PostSubject: Re: state of officiating: opinions   Wed Jun 05, 2013 7:42 pm