HoopLife Forums

The opportunity to talk about issues affecting Canadian basketball from coast-to-coast

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

Defense vs Offence

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
RockNation

PostSubject: Defense vs Offence   Thu Jan 21, 2016 11:55 pm

I am an old school coach, player, fan, parent and love Basketball. I am a true believer in Defense wins ball games not offence. Every team I ever played on either Hockey, Football, Basketball, Soccer, it didn't matter what level we always won because of defence. I watch college teams, Nba teams, high school teams and teams that can play defense usually win. So why is there not more focus on defensive minded players. I mean growing up I could play incredible Defense, offense was OK but I was always a starter and played almost the whole game each and every night. Why because I could defend and we won. So when I see so much focus on offence I wonder why. I wonder why all the offensive minded players get all the accolades. The province, The Sun always have write ups on top players scoring and scoring but can they play defense. So if a player is going off all season averages 32 points a game. Then comes up against an incredible defender and gets 15 pts but loses the game why? Because he came up against a great defender. They still talk about the guy who got 15pts but not the team that won and why? I believe that's why Jordan was the best ever cause he could score and defend hence his 6 Championships. My passion is defense and will continue to preach this message. How do you think OJ got off, good defence. Let the debate begin. Not many kids in high school that can do both. I'd take a kid that can defend over a kid that can score. Quote from Steve Fisher D1 San Diego State says freshman coming in say "coach I score" hoping that will get them minutes, his response "yo