HoopLife Forums

The opportunity to talk about issues affecting Canadian basketball from coast-to-coast

HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Share | 

School Boundaries

Go down 
AuthorMessage
oldman

PostSubject: School Boundaries   Mon Mar 19, 2018 6:26 pm

I'll admit I have a bit of an opinion on this issue, but I'll also admit that I haven't seen all/heard all regarding this issue. I can also say that as someone in Calgary, I don't really know how this is handled in the South Zone, and I have limited knowledge of Edmonton. But... this is what I know:

In Edmonton, it seems there is no enforced school area boundaries. Students can choose what school they go to regardless of where they live. As a result, athletes can and often do choose schools based on athletic program. Example - basketball girls from across Edmonton can and do attend Jasper Place, or basketball boys from across Edmonton attend Harry Ainlay. I know that Ainlay & JP are not the only schools where this occurs.

In Calgary, there are defined school area boundaries. Students can choose a school based on which school is designated to their community, or which school has the 'special program' they seek (IB, AP, French, etc...) As a result, students are either limited to their designate school, or choose a 'special program' if they want to seek a particular athletic program. It reduces, but does not eliminate a student's ability to choose schools based on athletics. Students can't 'cross the city' to join a program. Example - to go to Western, basketball players either live in the designate area, or they qualify based on another way (IB or extended French - still defined by area).